Skip to content
  1. Latest News

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA, Wins 2 Leadership Awards

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey headshot
Risa Lavizzo-Mourey headshot

Congratulations to Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA, who was recently recognized with two leadership awards.

Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey has received the Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders from the American College of Physicians (ACP) and the University of Iowa School of Public Health’s Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award.

“I am truly honored and humbled to be recognized by the ACP and The University of Iowa as I join past recipients who I have long admired and respected. Previous awardees of both the Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders and the Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award have made trailblazing contributions to improving health for all,” Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey said. “Throughout my career – from a practicing physician working in academic medicine to holding government positions in health care policy to playing a key role in philanthropy and foundation work – when it comes to leadership, I have learned that big problems are not solved by a single leader or a single entity.

“To make a difference on a large scale, leaders must collaborate, co-create and collectively act with the people and the organizations needed to tackle those big problems. I am genuinely thankful for all of the trusting partnerships that enriched my leadership role and propelled meaningful change and progress in health and health care.”

According to ACP’s website, the Weinberger award is given to a “physician executive or leader of a national or international medical organization for distinguished contributions to internal medicine or significant impact on improving healthcare and/or medical education beyond a single institution or health system.”

In addition to accepting the University of Iowa School of Public Health’s Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award, Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey will present a lecture entitled “Lessons Learned While Building a Culture of Health” on November 19, 2019. This annual award honors people who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the public health field. Award-winners have proven themselves in the following areas, according to University of Iowa’s website:

  • Sustained and nationally recognized excellence in carrying out their professional roles and responsibilities;
  • Superb leadership qualities, including commitment to high ideals, vision, and the ability to inspire others;
  • Exemplary personal qualities, including integrity, respect for others, and high ethical and moral standards; and
  • Enduring commitment and significant contributions to improving public health in the communities where he or she has served and/or on a national or international basis.