Skip to content
  1. Latest News

Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey to Receive National Award from the American College of Physicians

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey headshot

American College of Physicians press release

Philadelphia – Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MACP, has been awarded the Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders from the American College of Physicians, a national organization of internists. She will receive the award at the Convocation Ceremony on Thursday, April 23, 2020, at the Los Angeles Convention Center, where ACP is hosting its annual scientific conference, Internal Medicine Meeting 2020, through April 25.

Established by ACP’s Board of Regents in 2015, the Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders is bestowed to a physician executive or leader of a national or international medical organization for distinguished contributions to internal medicine or significant impact on improving health care and/or medical education. The physician executive/leader should be a full-time employee, not serving in an elected position.

Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey, of Philadelphia, is president emerita and former CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF). She is now the RWJF PIK Professor of Health Policy and Health Equity at the University of Pennsylvania. She earned her medical degree from Harvard Medical School and an MBA from the Wharton School.

She is a distinguished internist, geriatrician, teacher, and health policy leader, focusing her career on the health and health care of disadvantaged and minority populations, and the elderly. She served as Chief of the Geriatric Medicine Division, Director of the Institute on Aging, and the Sylvan Eisman Professor of Medicine and Health Care Systems at the University of Pennsylvania. In 2003, Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey became the first woman and first African American to be President and CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Her national leadership focused on philanthropic initiatives, creating healthier, more equitable communities, population health, strengthening the integration of health systems and services, and ensuring children’s health.

Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey has a record of government service with the Institute of Medicine, AHRQ, and the White House. She has received many national awards in recognition of her contributions to medicine. She has also served on many boards, including the American Board of Internal Medicine and is currently on the Smithsonian Institution Board of Regents. Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey chaired the ACP Ethics and Human Rights Committee and the Awards Committee. A member of the Board of Regents from 1995-2000, she was elected to Mastership in 2001. Election to Mastership recognizes outstanding and extraordinary career accomplishments.

About the American College of Physicians

The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States with members in more than 145 countries worldwide. ACP membership includes 159,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Follow ACP on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.


Media Contact:

Jeff Lyons