Skip to content
  1. Latest News

Dr. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey wins Gustav O. Lienhard Award for Advancement of Health Care from National Academy of Medicine


Congratulations to Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA, on winning the Gustav O. Lienhard Award for Advancement of Health Care from the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey is a member of the Center for Health Incentives & Behavioral Economics’ External Advisory Board.

The award — a medal and $40,000 — recognizes individuals for outstanding achievement in improving health care services in the United States. Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey will receive the award October 18, 2021, at NAM’s annual meeting.

“Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey’s pioneering work has truly shifted the paradigm of health and health care access in the US, as she recognized that creating a healthier society requires looking upstream, beyond the traditional scope of medical care, to address social and economic factors influencing health,” said NAM President Victor J. Dzau in a press release. “From her tireless dedication to building healthier, more equitable communities to harnessing the strength of broad-based coalitions to ensuring the development of leaders for the provision of quality care nationally and globally, it is clear that Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey is one of the most outstanding health figures of our generation and most deserving of this prestigious award.”

Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey is the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Population Health and Health Equity Professor Emerita at the University of Pennsylvania and former president and CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF).

Read more on the NAM website.