Skip to content
  1. Experts
Rinad Beidas, PhD

Rinad Beidas, PhD

Chair and Ralph Seal Paffenbarger Professor of Medical Social Sciences at Northwestern University

Dr. Rinad Beidas is Chair of the Department of Medical and Social Sciences at Northwestern University and Ralph Seal Paffenbarger Professor of Medical Social Sciences. Previously, Dr. Beidas was a Professor of Psychiatry; Medical Ethics and Health Policy; and Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. She was also the Director of the Penn Medicine Nudge Unit and Director of the Penn Implementation Science Center at the Leonard Davis Institute (PISCE@LDI), and a former Associate Director of CHIBE. Her research focuses on advancing the study of methods to promote the systematic uptake of evidence-based practices into routine clinical care to improve the quality and effectiveness of health and behavioral health services. Specifically, her interests relate to the measurement of implementation outcomes (e.g., fidelity), designing and testing implementation strategies using systematic and rigorous methods with an eye towards targets and mechanisms, and collaborating with community stakeholders to understand the best ways to implement evidence-based practices and improve services across a variety of settings. She has been identified as a leading implementation scientist and has published over 130 articles in this area. She serves as MPI of an NIH Center on behavioral economics, implementation science, and mental health (P50 MH 113840) and has a strong record of NIH-funded implementation research serving as MPI or PI of six NIH grants totaling over 10 million dollars. She is deeply committed to training the next generation of implementation scientists and mentors graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty through a variety of mechanisms including a T32 at the intersection of implementation science and mental health. Dr. Beidas holds a bachelor of arts in psychology from Colgate University and a doctorate of philosophy in psychology from Temple University. She is the recipient of a number of awards, including the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies President’s New Researcher Award in 2015; the American Psychological Foundation Diane J. Willis Early Career Award; and the Perelman School of Medicine Marjorie Bowman New Investigator Research Award in 2017.